The Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic and economic conditions of America since 1878. This 2017 edition continues the heritage begun so long ago by the U.S. government, with the U.S. Census Bureau being the last agency to produce the compendium at government expense. Now in our fifth annual edition, Bernan and ProQuest carry on the proud tradition and responsibility of creating the statistical portrait of America. Librarians value theStatistical Abstractas both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. Long-time users of the Statistical Abstract of the United States expect each new edition to carry forward much of the content from prior editions, as well as introduce new data as America continues to evolve. Our editors are committed to updating the long-standing, historical statistics as new data becomes available, as well as finding new topics to cover. This 2017 edition includes nearly 40 new tables on topics including: .Student grant and scholarship aid .Use of public libraries .Visa overstays .Dental care visits .Youth tobacco and nicotine product use .Crude oil rail shipments .Pipeline mileage and safety .Subsidized housing .Characteristics of military personnel and families .Prisoner recidivism .Mental health treatment facilities .Sexual attraction and orientation .and much more"
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2016-2017
by Bureau of Labor Statistics Staff (Editor)
Call Number: REF HF5382.5 .U5 O33 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-19
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is the premier, nationally recognized source for career information. Especially designed to provide valuable up-to-date information, the Handbook is great for all individuals making decisions about their futures including students about to graduate from high school or college, recent graduates, individuals returning to the workforce after an absence, or anyone looking for a career change. It has been used by millions since the 1940s. The 2016 2017 OOH reflects employment projections for the 2014 2024 decade. It includes information on the fastest-growing occupations, number of new jobs, and a summary of the highest-paying occupations. This Handbook contains over 300 occupations profiles and includes information on: .Duties required by the occupation .Work Environment .Education and training needed .Median pay .Important qualities for the job .Licenses, certification, and registrations needed .Contact information to learn more about the occupation .Job outlook Special features include: .Assumptions and methods used in preparing employment projections .A comprehensive appendix summarizing the occupations .Data for occupations not covered in detail .Employment projections .Glossary of terms used throughout the book .Occupational information network coverage; and a detailed index More detailed information is included on the following occupations: .Buyers and Purchasing Agents .Flooring Installers and Tile Marble Setters .Exercise Physiologists .Purchasing Managers"