Skip to main content

Children's Literature at Delta College

The Children's Literature collection at Delta College Library has children's books for toddlers through teens. If you are looking for a children's book for your classes, your kids, or even just an old favorite for yourself, you will find it here.

Children's Literature Collection

Children's Literature Students   

Are you taking children's literature at Delta College? You will find the books you need for your coursework here. Our collection includes quality picture books for toddlers through elementary grades, as well as award winning novels and nonfiction for older children and young adults.

Parents

Are you a busy student parent? You will find books for your children's recreational reading and homework projects here.

 

Children's Book Lovers

Do you want to read a childhood favorite or keep up with the newest great books? Satisfy your "kid lit" urge with the wonderful books in our collection.

Finding Children's Books

Children's collection signs

Finding Books in the Children's Literature Collection

The children's collection is split into three sections designated by different colored stickers:
 

spine label fictionF= Fiction  (Yellow) In the fiction section, you will find made up stories with chapters. Most of the books in this section will be for grades three and up. Fairy tale and fable collections are also found in the fiction section.

 

 

spine label nonfictionNF= Nonfiction  (Orange) In the nonfiction section, you will find poetry collections, nursery rhyme collections, and song books. This is also the place to go for books about real people, places, and things. This is the place for an animal fact book not a story with talking animals.


 

spine label picture bookP= Picture Book  (Purple) In the picture book section, you will find stories to read to younger children. Beginning readers will also be in this section. The books in this section will have lots of pictures too. Individual fairy tales, fables, and stories in rhyme will be in this section.

 

 

Just Want to Browse?

  • Children's nonfiction is arranged by the same classification numbers used for adult books, so a book on religion would be in the B's and a book on sports would be in the G's etc.
  • Children's fiction is separated into picture books and fiction areas. Most is classified in PZ7 and further organized by the author's last name.
  • Collections are found in the fiction area and individual tales in the picture book area.
    • Fairy tales are classified PZ8.
    • Folklore and legends are classified PZ8.1.
    • Fables are classified PZ8.2.

Using the Library Catalog

Find us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016