Skip to main content

Health Fitness Program

This guide will help students in Health Fitness programs find Library resources.

Find Articles using Delta's Databases

Use our subscription databases to search for articles on the subjects you need to complete your projects and papers. Most content in the Databases is not freely available on the open web and the material is already reviewed, lending to its CREDIBILITY! Most databases will also generate a citation for you so get out there and use them.

EBSCO Databases (login from off campus)

Examples of Full-Text journals available in Academic Search Complete include:

  • Journal of Sports Medicine and Science
  • Applied Physiology, Nutrition and Metabolism
  • Journal of Athletic Training
  • American Fitness
  • Kinesiology

Examples of Journals and Magazines indexed in CINAHL Plus (you can search for articles but would have to order full text through interlibrary loan).

  • Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness
  • Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research
  • ACSM's Health & Fitness Journal
  • IDEA Fitness Journal
  • Fitness & Performance Journal
  • Journal of Exercise Science & Fitness
  • Journal of Sports Rehabilitation
  • Running & FitNews
  • Journal of Aging & Physical Activity

Examples of Magazines available in Masterfile Complete:

  • Prevention
  • Men's Health
  • Health and Fitness Magazine
  • Shape
  • Muscle and Fitness
  • American Fitness

Examples of Full-Text Magazines available in Vocational Studies Premier include:

  • Fitness Business Pro
  • Health
  • Club Industry

Database Search Tips - Limiting to a specific Journal or Magazine

How do I search in a specific journal or magazine?
Select Journal Name from the dropdown menu and enter the specific journal name you want to search.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete search box screen shot

Now all of your search results should be located in the Journal of Athletic Training

EBSCO Citation from Journal of Athletic Training

Database Search Tips - Taking off the Full Text Filter

Not all Journals and Magazines are available Full Text in the databases but you can still search for CITATIONS and use those to request the articles through INTERLIBRARY LOAN. It's as easy as removing the FULL TEXT FILTER when you run your search.

Search ProQuest US Newstream

Find us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016