Skip to main content

Evaluate Media

Delta Library Media Bias Chart

Recommended News Sources

News Sources: Neutral Bias

  • Agence France PresseAFP is a global news agency delivering fast, accurate, in-depth coverage of the events shaping our world from conflicts to politics, economics, sports, entertainment and the latest breakthroughs in health, science and technology.

Available for free on the Web

  • The Associated PressThe Associated Press is an independent, not-for-profit news cooperative headquartered in New York city.  Our teams in over 100 countries tell the world's stories, from breaking news to investigating reporting.

Available for free on the Web.

  • BBC: The BBC is the world's leading public service broadcaster.  Its mission is to enrich people's lives with programmes that inform, educate and entertain.

Available for free on the Web.

  • Bloomberg Businessweek: Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.

Limited access on the Web. 

The physical magazine is available in the Delta College Library periodical section.

  • The Christian Science Monitor: We- and you- know the news is essential.  It's the fuel for a thriving democracy.  It protects our rights and our values, it takes us to people and to places we've never seen....we've rededicated ourselves to amplifying and clarifying how we deliver on the Monitor's mission - to better serve readers who care deeply about being a a part of the solution.

Limited access on the Web.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, US Newsstream.

  • The Economist: The Economist has been published since September 1843 to take part "in a severe contest between intelligence, which presses forward, and an unworthy, timid ignorance obstructing our progress". This mission continues to guide our coverage: we publish it every week in the newspaper.

Limited access on the Web. 

The physical magazine is available in the Delta College Library periodical section.

Search the index for this periodical through Delta College Library's database, Academic Search Complete

  • Foreign PolicyOver the course of almost half a century of award-winning journalism, design, and the presentation of important new ideas from the world's leading thinkers, Foreign Policy has established itself at the forefront of media organizations devoted to the coverage of global affairs.

Limited access on the Web.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, Political Science Complete.

  • The Hill: Through print, online and events, The Hill's powerhouse of vehicles signal the important issues of the moment, and together have earned the reputation of being a complete and comprehensive source of Congressional news.  The Hill serves to connect the players, define the issues and engage Washington's decision makers in the debate.

Available for free on the Web.

  • NPR: National Public Radio: On-air and online, NPR presents fact-based, independent journalism that examines and airs diverse perspectives.  NPR's journalists strive for mastery of the narrative form, telling stories in ways that transport the audience to the places where news is happening and introducing the people affected.

Available for free on the Web.

  • Reuters: Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is the world's largest international multimedia news provider reaching one billion people every day.  Reuters provides trusted business, financial, national and international news to professionals.

Available for free on the Web.

  • USA TODAY: Through its unique visual storytelling, USA TODAY delivers high-quality and engaging content across print, digital, social and video platforms.  An innovator of news and information, we reflect the pulse of the nation and serve as the host of the American conversation - today, tomorrow and for decades to follow.

Available for free on the Web.

The physical paper is available in the Delta College Library periodical section.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, US Newsstream.

News Sources: Left-Leaning Bias

  • The Atlantic: As we reflect on our past and look toward the future - in a world where ideologically narrow or simple answers are less adequate, and can even be more destructive, than ever - we decided to put to words a handful of ideas we thought represented authentic guiding commitments for us and to our audience.

Available for free on the Web.

The physical magazine is available in the Delta College Library periodical section.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, Academic Search Complete.

  • Axios: We are a new media company delivering vital, trustworthy news and analysis in the most efficient, illuminating and shareable ways possible.  We offer a mix of original and smartly narrated coverage of media trends, tech, business and politics with expertise, voice AND Smart Brevity - on a new and innovative mobile platform.

Available for free on the Web.

  • The Guardian: Covering American and international news for an online, global audience.  Guardian US is renowned for the Paradise Papers investigation and other award-winning work including, the NSA revelations, Panama Papers and The Counted investigations.

Available for free on the Web.

  • The New York Times: The New York Times is dedicated to helping people understand the world through on-the-ground, expert and deeply reported independent journalism.  Our mission is simple: We seek the truth and help people understand the world.  This mission is rooted in our belief that great journalism has the power to make each reader's life richer and more fulfilling, and all of society stronger and more just.

Limited access on the Web.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, US Newsstream. 

  • POLITICO: POLITICO strives to be the dominant source for politics and policy in power centers across every continent where access to reliable information, non-partisan journalism and real-time tools creates, informs and engages a global citizenry. 

Available for free on the Web.

  • ProPublica: ProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism with moral force.  We dig deep into important issues, shining a light on abuses of power and betrayals of public trust - and we stick with those issues as long as it takes to hold power to account.

Available for free on the Web.

  • TIME: Since its founding in 1923, TIME Magazine has been one of the most authoritative and informative guides to what is happening in the worlds of heal and science, politics, business, society and entertainment.

Available for free on the Web.

The physical magazine is available in the Delta College Library periodical section.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, Academic Search Complete.

  • The Washington Post: Breaking news and analysis on politics, business, world national news, entertainment, and more.  A daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. 

Limited access on the Web.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, US Newsstream. 

  • The Week: The Week magazine takes only the best articles from the global online and print media and expertly edits them together, giving you a balanced and concise view of the news from the past seven days.

Available for free on the Web.

News Sources: Right-Leaning Bias

  • The American Conservative: The American Conservative exists to promote a "Main Street" conservatism that opposes unchecked power in government and business; promotes the flourishing of families and communities through vibrant markets and free people; and embraces realism and restraint in foreign affair based on America's vital national interests.

Available for free on the Web.

  • The Fiscal Times: The Fiscal Times (TFT) is a digital news, opinion and media service primarily focused on the federal budget, entitlements, healthcare, taxes and the national debt.  TFT is an editorially independent enterprise - written, edited and produced by experienced professional journalists - that provides insight and analysis into the vita fiscal issues that are key to America's future.

Available for free on the Web.

  • Foreign Affairs: Since its founding in 1922, Foreign Affairs has been the leading forum for serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs...Foreign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas.

Available for free on the Web.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, Political Science Complete

  • The Wall Street Journal: Winner of 37 Pulitzer Prizes for outstanding journalism, the Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports, health and more.

Limited access on the Web.

Connect to full access to this periodical through Delta College Library's database, US Newsstream. 

Recommended Local and State News Sources

  • Bridge MagazineBridge's mission is to inform Michigan citizens through fact-based, nonpartisan journalism that identifies critical issues and helps citizens navigate the challenges of our civic life. Our goal at Bridge is simple: to better inform Michigan's private citizens so as to encourage a vibrant state in both the private and public sectors.

  • Delta Broadcasting QTV and 90.1 FMDelta Broadcasting's mission is to educate, inform, and inspire through commercial-free radio, television, and other media, touching the lives of all mid-Michigan citizens by providing quality programming and services.

  • Detroit Free Press: Free Press journalists aim to tell the stories that matter to you and your community, to hold our elected officials accountable, and to spotlight the people and places that make our city and state unique. The Detroit Free Press has received 10 Pulitzer Prizes and four national Emmy awards, and has a left-leaning bias.

  • Detroit NewsThe Detroit News is a major Detroit newspaper. It has won and been nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. The Detroit News has a right-leaning bias.

  • Michigan Radio: In addition to carrying daily news programming from national and international public radio news outlets, Michigan Radio produces and distributes its own local journalism content with an award-winning team of journalists based in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Flint, and Grand Rapids.

  • Midland Daily News: The Midland Daily News is the local paper for Midland, Michigan. It has a conservative bias.

  • MLive: Covers statewide Michigan news and can be personalized for our tri-city area.

Find us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016