Skip to main content

Chey Davis English Class:

Databases to Search for Articles on your Topics

Find articles on your topic using our resources below.  If you need any help, please Ask a Librarian.  For additional databases, see Delta's Articles/Databases page.  Off-campus users will need to log in with their username and password.

EBSCO Journal and Magazine Article Databases

EBSCO is a company that provides subject databases that will provide many full-text magazine and journal articles on a variety of topics. OFF-campus use requires your Delta College username and password. Of particular interest for this assignment are the following EBSCO databases:

OmniFile Full Text Select : Provides full-text articles from journal and magazine articles on a variety of topics.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega: Provides some full-text articles from popular magazines.

Social Sciences Full Text: Provides many full-text journal articles on social issues.

InfoTrac Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Article Databases

Expanded Academic ASAP:  provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

General OneFile: is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

InfoTrac Newsstand: provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.

List of Articles

Articles that have blue links can be accessed by clicking on the links.  Articles without links are available on Reserve in the Library at the Circulation Desk for four hour checkout.  You will need your Delta ID.

Angie, K. "Emotional Segregation: A Content Analysis of Institutional Racism in
          U.S. Films, 1980-2001." Ethnic & Racial Studies 30.5 (2007): 687-712. Print.

Appelbaum, Yoni. "Why is the Flag Still There?" The Atlantic.com.
           Atlantic Monthly Group, June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Coates, Ta-Nehisi,  “Take Down the Confederate Flag–Now.” The Atlantic.com.
            Atlantic Monthly Group,
June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Cobb, Jelani. "Terrorism in Charleston." NewYorker.com. The New Yorker, 29 June 2015.
          Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Doane, Ashley. “What is Racism? Racial Discourse and Racial Politics.” Critical
          Sociology, 32.2/3 (2006):
255-274. Print.

Dobratz, Betty A. and Stephanie Shanks-Meile. “The Strategy of White Separatism.”
         Journal of Political & Military Sociology 34.1 (2006): 49-79. Print.

Downey, Liam. “Environmental Racial Inequality in Detroit.” Social Forces 85.2 (2006):
          771-796. Print.

Dyson, Michael Eric. "Love and Terror in the Black Church." Nytimes.com. The New York
        Times Company. 21 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Edgell, Penny, and Eric Tranby. “Religious Influences on Understandings of Racial
          Inequality in the United States.” Social Problems 54.2 (2007): 263-288. Print.

Egerton, Douglas R. "Before Charleston's Church Shooting, a Long History of Attacks."
          Nytimes.com
. The New York Times Company. 18 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Foldy, Benjamin. "Rhodesian Flag, Confederate Flag: Roof & the Legacies of Racial Hate."
          Juancole.com. Juan Cole. June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Gerke, Markus. “Want to Help Marginalized Students in Schools? Stop 'Stop and Frisk' and
          Other Punitive Practices, Too.” Sociology Lens. Societypages.org. 7 Nov. 2013.  Web. 17
          Aug. 2015.

Goldberg, David Theo, Ramon Grosfoguel, and Eric Mielants. “Field of Dreams.”
          International Journal of Comparative Sociology 47.3/4 (2006): 259-280.  Print.

Greene II, Robert. "Racism Can't Destroy this Charleston Church." Politico.com.
           Politico Magazine. 19 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Guess, Teresa. "The Social Construction of Whiteness: Racism by Intent, Racism by
          Consequence.” Critical Sociology 32.4 (2006): 649-673. Print.

Libby, Nelson. "The Confederate Flag Symbolizes White Supremacy - and it Always Has."
          Vox.com. Vox. 20 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Linnemann, T., T.  Wall, and E. Green. "The Walking Dead and Killing State: Zombification
          and the Normalization of Police Violence." Theoretical Criminology 18.4 (2014):
          506-527. Print.

Martinot, Steve. "On the Epidemic of Police Killings." Social Justice 39.4 (2013) : 52-75.
           Print
.

O'Brien, Eileen, and Kathleen Odell Koren. "It’s the Message, Not the Messenger:
          The Declining Significance of Black–White Contact in a “Colorblind” Society.”
          Sociological Inquiry 77.3 (2007): 356-382. Print.

Painter, Nell Irvin. "What is Whiteness?" Nytimes.com. The New York Times Company.
          21 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Pierce, Charles P. "Charleston Shooting: Speaking the Unspeakable, Thinking the
          Unthinkable." 
Esquire.com. Esquire. 18 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Remnick, David. "Charleston and the Age of Obama." Newyorker.com. New Yorker.
          19 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Richardson, Heather Cox. "Reconstructing the American Tradition of Domestic Terrorism."
           Were History. Werehistory.org. 18 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Rios, Victor M. "Stealing a Bag of Potato Chips and Other Crimes of Resistance." Contexts
          11.1 (
2012): 48-53. Print.

Rios, Victor M. “The Hyper-criminalization of Black and Latino Male Youth in the Era of
          Mass Incarceration.”
Souls 8.2 (2006): 40-54
. Print.

Robinson, Amanda L. and Meghan S. Chandek.  “Differential Police Response to         
          Black Battered Women.” Women & Criminal Justice 12. 2-3 (2000): 29-61.
Print.

Sinha, Manisha. "The Long and Proud History of the Charleston's AME Church."
          Huffingtonpost.com. TheHuffingtonPost.com Inc. 19 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Staats, Cheryl. "State of the Science: Implicit Bias Review..." Kirwaninstitute.osu.edu. Kirwan
          Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity, 2013. Web. 19 Aug. 2015.

Traister, Rebecca. "Our Racist History Isn't Back to Haunt Us. It Never Left Us."
          Newrepublic.com. The New Republic. 18 June 2015. Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Warren, Patrick Y. “The Continuing Significance of Race: An Analysis Across
          Two Levels of Policing.” Social Science Quarterly 91.4 (2010):1025-1042. Print.

Williams, Kidada E. "Centuries of Violence."  Slate.com. Slate Magazine. 19 June 2015.         
          Web. 20 Aug. 2015.

Yancey, George. “Experiencing Racism: Differences in the Experiences of Whites Married
         to Blacks and Non-Black Racial Minorities.” Journal of Comparative Family Studies
          38.2 (2007): 197-213. Print.

Zamudio, Margaret M. and Francisco Rios. “From Traditional to Liberal Racism:        
         Living Racism in the Everyday.” Sociological Perspectives 49.4 (2006): 483-501. Print.

Find us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016