Skip to main content

RAD/EDU 395

Help for locating disciplinary literacy resources.

Books

Delta College Library can interlibrary loan the following books if you feel that they will help you. It takes about two weeks for a library to send the book.
 

Benjamin, L.T. (2008). Favorite activities for the teaching of psychology.

            Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

"The most popular activities from APA's successful "Activities Handbooks for the Teaching of Psychology" are gathered together and updated in this book of teachers' favorites. The lesson plans, which encourage active learning and involve the whole class, have stood the test of time and proven themselves to be entertaining, effective, and easy to plan."

 

Dunn, D. (2011). Best practices for technology-enhanced teaching and learning : 

          connecting to psychology and the social sciences. New York: Oxford.

Getting connected: an overview of best practices for using technology to improve teaching and learning in psychology / Dana S. Dunn [and others] -- Teaching with technology: issues and ideas. Approach or avoidance? Understanding technology's place in teaching and learning / Dana S. Dunn, Janie H. Wilson, and James E. Freeman -- A brief stroll down random access memory lane: Implications for teaching with technology / Bernard C Beins -- Developing an online curriculum in psychology: practical advice from a departmental initiative / Jeffrey L. Helms [and others] -- Faculty-student communication: beyond face to face / Monica Reis-Bergan [and others] -- Practical Powerpoint: promising principles for developing individual practice / David B. Daniel -- Technology: applications in and outside the classroom. Comprehensive hybrid course development / Charles M. Harris and Ulas Kaplan -- Academic advising with a developmentally organized web site / Drew C. Appleby -- Enhancing student engagement and learning using "clicker"-based interactive classroom demonstrations / Gary M. Muir and Anne M. Cleary -- The What? How? and Which? of course-management systems / Michelle A. Drouin -- Interact! Teaching using an interactive whiteboard / Matthew B. Sacks and Benjamin A. Jones -- Motivating student engagement with MySpace and web-enhanced research labs / Kim A. Case and Beth Hentges -- A practical guide to using YouTube in the classroom / Mandy Cleveland -- I didn't know I could do that: using web-based tools to enhance learning / Jorge Pérez and Kevin Hurysz -- Think fast: using web-based reaction time technology to promote teaching about racial bias and diversity / Kathryn A. Morris, Leslie Ashburn-Nardo, and Robert J. Padgett -- Technology: new opportunities for teaching. Online tools to promote student collaboration / Kevin J. Apple [and others] -- To the internet and beyond: surveying the active learning universe / Beth R. Kirsner, Clayton L. Teem II, and Laura B. Underwood -- Online quizzes: improving reading compliance and student learning / Lonnie R. Yandell and William N. Bailey -- Going virtual: virtual worlds as education tools / Suzanne C. Baker and Monica Reis-Bergan -- Emerging technologies to improve teaching and learning in a digital world / Jeffrey R. Stowell.

 

Jarvis, Matt. (2011). Teaching psychology 14-19: issues and techniques.

          New York: Routledge.

Teaching Psychology 14-19 - first published as Teaching Post-16 Psychology - is a core text for all training psychology teachers, as well as experienced teachers engaged in further study and professional development. Taking a reflective approach, Matt Jarvis explores key issues and debates against a backdrop of research and theory, and provides guidance on practical ideas intended to make life in the psychology classroom easier.

With an emphasis on the application of psychology to teaching psychology, it clearly and comprehensively covers the knowledge essential to develop as a successful teacher. Key issues considered include:

  • The appeal of psychology and what the subject can offer students
  • The psychology curriculum and advice on how to choose a syllabus
  • Principles of effective teaching and learning
  • Teaching psychological thinking
  • Differentiated psychology teaching
  • Choosing and developing resources
  • Using technology effectively.

 

Lucas, S.G. & Bernstein, D.A. (2015). Teaching psychology: A step-by-step guide.

          New York: Psychology Press.

"This volume provides thoroughly updated guidelines for preparing and teaching an entire course in psychology. Based on best principles and effective psychological and pedagogical research, it offers practical suggestions for planning a course, choosing teaching methods, integrating technology appropriately and effectively, developing student evaluation instruments and programs, and ideas for evaluation of your own teaching effectiveness.

While research-based, this book was developed to be a basic outline of "what to do" when you teach. It is intended as a self-help guide for relatively inexperienced psychology teachers, whether graduate students or new faculty, but also as a core reading assignment for those who train psychology instructors. Experienced faculty who wish to hone their teaching skills will find the book useful, too."

 

Mayo, J.A. (2010). Constructing undergraduate psychology curricula :

         promoting authentic learning and assessment in the teaching of psychology.

         Washington DC: American Psychological Association.  

"Although courses differ widely across undergraduate institutions, dedicated psychology educators at all academic levels share an interest in uncovering optimal teaching practices. To aid the process of pedagogical discovery, this book addresses three contemporary concerns of psychology teachers and links these ideas to the first five learning goals and outcomes discussed in the American Psychological Association's (APA's; 2007) Guidelines for the Undergraduate Psychology Major: (a) knowledge base of psychology, (b) research methods in psychology, (c) critical thinking skills in psychology, (d) application of psychology, and (e) values in psychology.”

 

Zawacki, T.M. & Rogers, P.M. (2012). Writing across the curriculum:

          A critical sourcebook. Boston: Bedford/St.Martins.

“A history of inquiry : the resilience of writing across the curriculum -- The Writing-across-the-curriculum movement : 1970-1990 / David R. Russell -- Language across the curriculum / Alan Bullock and the Committee of Enquiry -- The pedagogy of writing across the curriculum / Susan McLeod -- WAC as critical pedagogy : the third stage? / Donna LeCourt -- Theory in WAC : where have we been, where are we going? / Christopher Thaiss -- Showing, not telling, at a writing workshop / Toby Fulwiler -- Writing to learn : writing across the disciplines / Anne J. Herrington -- Writing assignments across the curriculum : a national study of college writing / Dan Melzer -- Microtheme strategies for developing cognitive skills / John C. Bean, Dean Drenk, and F. D. Lee -- Writing across and against the curriculum / Art Young -- Introducing students to disciplinary genres : the role of the general composition course / Patricia Linton, Robert Madigan, and Susan Johnson -- One size does not fit all : plagiarism across the curriculum / Sandra Jamieson -- Interdisciplinary work as professional development : changing the culture of teaching / Joan A. Mullin -- Ways of knowing, doing, and writing in the disciplines / Michael Carter -- From cultural criticism to disciplinary participation : living with powerful words / Charles Bazerman -- Strangers in academia : the experiences of faculty and ESL students across the curriculum / Vivian Zamel -- "As you're writing, you have these epiphanies" : what college students say about writing and learning in their majors / Thomas L. Hilgers, Edna Lardizabal Hussey, and Monica Stitt-Bergh -- The novice as expert : writing the freshman year / Nancy Sommers and Laura Saltz -- Innovation across the curriculum : three case studies in teaching science and engineering communication / Jennifer L. Craig, Neal Lerner, and Mya Poe -- Writing across the curriculum and writing centers in two-year college English programs / Leslie Roberts -- Rethinking the WAC/Writing Center connection / Michael A. Pemberton -- Why is being interdisciplinary so very hard to do? : thoughts on the perils and promise of interdisciplinary pedagogy / Rebecca S. Nowacek -- Teaching and learning a multimodal genre in a psychology class / Chris M. Anson, Deanna P. Dannels, and Karen St. Clair -- Notes on the evolution of network support for writing across the curriculum / Mike Palmquist -- Beyond the L2 metaphor : towards a mutually transformative model of ESL/WAC collaboration / Paul Kei Matsuda and Jeffrey Jablonski -- Exploring notions of genre in "Academic literacies" and "Writing across the curriculum" : approaches across countries and contexts / David R. Russell, Mary Lea, Jan Parker, Brian Street, and Tiane Donahue -- Assessing writing in cross-curricular programs : determining the locus of activity / Chris M. Anson -- Merging a Culture of Writing with a Culture of Assessment : Embedded, Discipline-Based Writing Assessment / Terry Myers Zawacki and Karen M. Gentemann -- The writer's personal profile : student self-assessment and goal setting at start of term / Tracy Ann Robinson and Vicki Tolar Burton -- From conduit to consumer : the role of WAC faculty in WAC assessment / Barbara E. Walvoord -- WAC program vulnerability and what to do about it : an update and brief bibliographic essay / Martha Townsend.”

Articles

The following list of articles are a result of searching EBSCO's  ERIC, Education Full-Text, OmniFile, and Social Sciences Full Text, as well as searching educational websites using Google.

Here are some examples of the search strategies used to find the following articles:

teaching methods reading psychology college

teaching reading psychology

teaching writing psychology

For Google, the following search seemed to work well: teaching reading nursing site:.edu

It is important to try a number of different words.

 

Clump, M. A. (2007). Do the low levels of reading course material continue?

          An examination in a forensic psychology graduate program.

          Journal of Instructional Psychology, 34 (4), 242-246.

“The information in this study provides a baseline for one master's-level program at one university with regard to the amount of reading of assigned material for graduate students. However, it indicates that the low level of reading by undergraduates continues into graduate studies at least at the master's level. In addition, like the undergraduate students, the graduate students feel that it is the instructor's responsibility to state exactly what is important in the reading and how class material relates with the assigned material, but the instructor should not actively question the students about the assigned material during class. It appears that students do not want instructors to directly ask them about the assigned readings because they typically do not read the assigned readings. A discussion of how to address this problem at the undergraduate level needs to continue because these select graduate students' habits and attitudes mirror those of the undergraduates, and most of the graduate students are not coming to class having read the assigned material, which is similar to their undergraduate peers. One possibility may be that instructors of both undergraduate and graduate courses will need to institute quizzes on reading assignments, extra credit for reading, or using graded "focus worksheets" with comments as suggested by previous research (Burchfield & Sappington, 2000; Carkenord, 1994; Connor-Greene, 2000; Marchant, 2002; Ruscio, 2001; Ryan, 2006; Sappington, Kinsey, & Munsayac, 2002; Steuer, 1996).”

 

Daniel, D. B., & Woody, W. D. (2010). They hear, but do not listen: Retention

          for podcasted material in a classroom context. Teaching of Psychology,

          37 (3), 199-203.

Is using text a more useful teaching tool?

“This study examined the retention of students who listened to podcasts of a primary source to the retention of students who read the source as text. We also assessed students' preferences and study habits. Quiz scores revealed that the podcast group performed more poorly than did students who read the text. Although students initially preferred podcasts, their preferences changed immediately after the quiz. Podcasts might be a useful tool to supplement or enrich course-related material, but they are not as effective as text for delivering primary content.”

 

Harrod, W. (2009). Using journals to show students what social psychology is all

          about. Teaching Sociology, 37 (4), 390-401.

"In this article, the author shares how her interest in social psychology journals provoked her to develop a teaching activity she uses in her social psychology classes. The activity asks students to examine four major journals in the field of social psychology. The teaching activity combines active-learning in groups, with a follow-up lecture/discussion. Results suggest that comparing social psychology journals is a highly educational activity for students."

 

Madigan, R. & Brosamer, J. (1990). Improving the writing skills of students

          in introductory psychology. Teaching of Psychology, 17 (1), 27-30.

"Compares two studies in which the effects of a writing component in introductory psychology were measured. Evaluates the impact of the format on students' writing skills. Notes essay questions were restricted to four rhetorical forms previously encountered by students in freshman composition classes."

 

Meyers, S.A. (1997). Increasing student participation and

          productivity in small-group  activities for psychology classes.

          Teaching of Psychology, 24 (2), 105-15.

"Reviews studies and journal articles to collect suggestions for increasing individual student involvement in small-group activities. Briefly addresses the lack of student productivity during these activities. Includes a descriptive table of all articles appearing in "Teaching of Psychology" between 1974 and 1995."

 

Nathanson, Steven. "Harnessing The Power Of Story: Using Narrative Reading

           And Writing Across Content Areas." Reading Horizons 47.1 (2006):

           1-26. ERIC. Web. 21 May 2015.

Abstract: This article reviews research to examine how teaching and learning are improved with the use of narrative story materials. Stories help to focus the reader's attention and build personal connection, resulting in better retention and deeper subject-matter understanding. Four key advantages of narratives cited by D. T. Willingham are discussed. The effectiveness of stories is further supported by a review of research from diverse fields, including cognitive psychology, social and physical sciences, education, and communication. Suggestions and strategies for the use of narrative materials in content area settings beyond the elementary classroom are also provided.

Full article is available in Education Full Text in EBSCO

 

Roberts, M. S., & And, O. (1990). Reading ability as a performance

          predictor in a behaviorally based psychology course. Teaching of Psychology,

          17 (3), 173-75.

"Examines how reading ability relates to course performance in an introductory developmental psychology course. Compares personalized system of instruction (PSI) to contingency managed lecture (CML) sections. Shows previous academic performance best predicted final examination scores for CML students while reading comprehension best predicted PSI student performances. Suggests lecture format may benefit students with deficient reading skills."

 

Shanahan, T. & Shanahan, C. (2008). Teaching disciplinary literacy to adolescents:

          Rethinking content-area literacy. Harvard Educational

          Review, 78 (1), 40-59.

"In this article, Timothy and Cynthia Shanahan argue that "disciplinary literacy" — advanced literacy instruction embedded within content-area classes such as math, science, and social studies should be a focus of middle and secondary school settings. Moving beyond the oft-cited "every teacher a teacher of reading" philosophy that has historically frustrated secondary content-area teachers, the Shanahans present data collected during the first two years of a study on disciplinary literacy that reveal how content experts and secondary content teachers read disciplinary texts, make use of comprehension strategies, and subsequently teach those strategies to adolescent readers. Preliminary findings suggest that experts from math, chemistry, and history read their respective texts quite differently; consequently, both the content-area experts and secondary teachers in this study recommend different comprehension strategies for work with adolescents. This study not only has implications for which comprehension strategies might best fit particular disciplinary reading tasks, but also suggests how students may be best prepared for the reading, writing, and thinking required by advanced disciplinary coursework."

 

Shea, K.A., Balkun, M.M., Nolan, S.A., Saccoman, J.T., & Wright, J. (2006).

           One more time: Transforming the curriculum across the disciplines through

           technology-based faculty development and writing-intensive course

           redesign. Across the Disciplines: A Journal of Language, Learning, and

           Academic Writing, 3. Retrieved from

           http://wac.colostate.edu/atd/articles/shea2006.cfm.

"A psychology case study in WAC - research papers and journals (Dr. Susan Nolan)." "I always have been a proponent of incorporating extensive writing into my psychology courses; however, without guidance on how to teach my students to write, the results of my efforts were at best limited. I have marked my students' papers to the point that, I am certain, my students were too overwhelmed to learn from my comments. I also have assigned my students long papers with few steppingstones to enable them to carve their projects into manageable chunks. And I certainly have not taken advantage of the vast potential of available technologies to facilitate the writing instruction process. Through the writing-intensive courses project conducted by faculty members from the English Department and under the auspices of the Teaching, Learning, and Technology Center at Seton Hall University, however, I have been able to develop my writing instruction skills, in great part through the use of technology."

 

Van Camp, D., & Van Camp, W. (2013). Using content reading assignments

          in a psychology course to teach critical reading skills.

          Journal of The Scholarship of Teaching And Learning, 13 (1), 86-99.

The PDF file can be located at: http://josotl.indiana.edu/article/view/2184/3063

"Liberal arts students are expected to graduate college with fully developed critical reading and writing skills. However, for a variety of reasons these skills are not always as well developed as they might be--both during and upon completion of college. This paper describes a reading assignment that was designed to increase students' discipline-specific reading and writing skills. The assignment was piloted in a mid-level social psychology class. Pre-test/post-test comparisons indicate substantial improvement in students' ability to identify thesis statements, recognize and interpret evidence, and other effective and critical reading skills. Furthermore, students themselves rate the assignment as efficacious in helping them with both their reading comprehension and writing skills. The series of assignments we describe involves reading original psychology texts and identifying their key components. We expected this to result in improved comprehension and critical reading skills - which we assess - but also lasting improvement in writing skills - which we do not assess in this paper. These expectations are informed by the literature about how students learn and the scholarship that emphasizes the link between reading and writing."

 

Find us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016