Skip to main content

RAD/EDU 395

Help for locating disciplinary literacy resources.

Books

Some of the following books are located within Delta College Library while others on this list would need to be interlibrary loaned.

 

Manzo, A. V., Manzo, U. C., & Thomas, M. M. (2005). Content area

          literacy: Strategic teaching for strategic learning.  New York: Wiley.

Part of the contents: "Beyond the lines : critical-constructive reading, writing, thinking, and Internet computing --; Ch. 9.; Reading and writing to learn across grade levels and content areas --; Ch. 10.; Interactive assessment for active self-monitoring and self-teaching --; Ch. 11.; Reading, learning, and remembering : study methods and MindTools."

 

Meredith, K. S. Classrooms of wonder and wisdom: reading, writing, and

          critical thinking for the 21st century. Thousand Oaks, CA. Corwin Press.

This book is located at Delta College Library: LB 1576 .M453 2011.

Part of the contents: "Content reading and readers' workshop -- Applying the reading process to content areas -- Reading in content areas-setting the stage -- Reading in content areas-questioning and discussion -- Applying readers' workshop process to science -- Folds -- Sample lesson -- Reading in content areas-the link to math -- Mathematics is more than a collection of concepts and skills -- Chapter reflection -- 8: Learning To Write, Writing To Learn -- Evocation -- Outcome expectations -- Writing resurgence -- Writing defined -- Writer's workshop -- Getting started -- Initial struggle -- Three cornerstones -- Creating context -- Mini-lessons -- Establishing expectations and setting rules -- Keeping track -- Content-area writing and writer's workshop -- Role, Audience, Format, And Topic (RAFT) -- Self-Regulated Strategy Development (SRSD)."

 

Olson, C. B. (2011).The reading/writing connection: strategies for teaching and

          learning in the secondary classroom. Boston: Pearson.

This book is located within Delta College Library: LB 1631 .O55 2011.

"The Third Edition features an array of new and updated individual reading/writing strategies, activities and mini-lessons, and it scaffolds these strategies in extended demonstration lessons that teachers can implement in their middle and secondary English classrooms. Well-respected author Carol Booth Olson extends far beyond most books intended for teachers of language arts by integrating reading and writing in creative, theory-based ways."

 

Reynolds, L. (2012). A call to creativity: writing, reading, and inspiring

          students in an age of standardization. New York: Teachers College Press.

This book is located in Delta College Library: LB 1590.5 .R49 2012

"Reading And Responding Like A Human Being. Beyond Reading And Writing: How To Teach Students To See, Think, And Feel: -- Compassion -- Imagination -- Trust through experience."

 

Rogers, J. M. (2011). Across the disciplines: Academic writing

           and reading. Toronto: Pearson.

"Critical thinking and active reading -- Thesis, process, and paragraphs -- Representing your own experience and observations : using personal voice in academic writing -- Representing sources : summary, paraphrase, quotation, and documentation -- Critiquing sources : writing critiques and reviews -- The research essay : integrating sources into an argument -- Rhetoric and writing : the struggle for voice in academic writing -- Political studies : homeless in the just society -- Cultural studies : the body under construction -- Psychology : conformity and courage -- Education : power and privilege in school culture -- New media : making our lives easier or more complicated? -- Literature and history : stories of Canada. Who do we think we are? Who do we want to be?"

 

Stone, R. (2007). Best practices for teaching writing: What

          award-winning classroom teachers do. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press.

This book is located within Delta College Library: LB 1050 .B468 2009

 

Ward, D., Vander Lei, E. & Vande Kopple, W.J. (2012). Real texts: Reading and

          writing across the disciplines. Boston: Longman. 

Articles

Some of the following articles are located in EBSCO's databases while others can be located on the Web. However, some articles would need to be interlibrary loaned.

 

Bosley, L. (2008). "I don't teach reading": Critical reading instruction

          in composition classes. Literacy Research & Instruction, 47(4), 285-308.

"Recent studies indicate that many entering freshmen are not prepared for the demands of college reading, yet most higher education institutions do not require stand alone reading courses. Although critical reading is an often-cited objective of some college composition courses, little research exists that describes how composition instructors teach critical reading strategies. This study examined ways that critical reading is taught In freshman composition courses at one university by generating data from teacher interviews and document analysis. The data suggests that reading pedagogy varies widely among composition instructors and that critical reading was generally not taught explicitly by participants in this study."

 

 

DuBrowa, M. (2011). Integrating reading and writing: One professor's

          story. Research & Teaching in Developmental Education, 28(1), 30-33.

"In these austere and uncertain financial times, colleges are caught in a quandary: they need to admit a certain number of students each term in order to make budget, yet many of the students they admit are developmental in nature by virtue of their critical thinking, writing and/or math scores on their entrance exams. Creative colleges are currently combining the critical thinking/reading and writing components into a unified course addressing both skills gaps. In this article, the author presents the story of two successful activities she has been using in the Integrated Reading and Writing developmental education course at Berkeley College in New York and New Jersey.

 

Fisher, D. & Frey, N. (2013). A range of writing across the content areas.

          Reading Teacher, 67(2), 96-101.

The full text/PDF file is located within EBSCO's Education Full Text database.

"Students must be taught to write and then be expected to write for a variety of purposes to a variety of audiences, including in mathematics, science, and social studies. As part of building the writing prowess of students, they must write routinely, both short and long pieces. As part of a comprehensive writing curriculum, students' writing fluency should be fostered, students should participate in lessons designed to build their composing skills, and students must learn to write from the sources that they read."

 

Graham, S. & Hebert, M. (2011). Writing to read: A meta-analysis of the

          impact of writing and writing instruction on reading. Harvard Educational

          Review, 81(4), 710-744.

This entire article can be found ONLINE FREE at:
http://www.studentachievement.org/wp-content/uploads/Writing-to-Read.pdf

The article has a long bibliography/references at the end of the article.
Some of the
sources are old but some might be very helpful.

"Reading is critical to students' success in and out of school. One potential means for improving students' reading is writing. In this meta-analysis of true and quasi-experiments, Graham and Herbert present evidence that writing about material read improves students' comprehension of it; that teaching students how to write improves their reading comprehension, reading fluency, and word reading; and that increasing how much students write enhances their reading comprehension. These findings provide empirical support for long-standing beliefs about the power of writing to facilitate reading."

 

Harrison, G. L. (2009). The component reading and writing skills of at-risk

          undergraduates with hiring difficulties. Learning Disabilities:

          A Contemporary Journal, 7(2), 59-72.

The entire article can be located, for FREE, at:
http://ethnografia.wikispaces.com/file/view/the+component+reading+and+writing.pdf

 

"Cognitive, word-level reading, spelling and writing measures were administered to academically at-risk undergraduates with writing difficulties to examine their literacy profiles; and performance was compared to typically-achieving writers. The at-risk students were slower and less accurate on measures of sight word reading, lexical decision, alpha-RAN, and were less accurate in making rhyming decisions for words that varied in their visual and phonological similarity than typically-achieving writers. Students also produced misspellings that were less orthographically plausible, and made more spelling errors and used less sophisticated vocabulary in their essays, despite good oral vocabulary, than students without writing difficulties. Findings are discussed in relation to the importance of well-developed word-specific knowledge into adulthood for skilled writing, and in relation to the effectiveness of self-report in the present study as a screening tool to research adult writing difficulties."

 

Wallace, R., Pearman, C., Hail, C., & Hurst, B. (2007). Writing for comprehension.

          Reading Horizons, 48(1), 41-56.

This entire article can be located online, for free, at: http://scholarworks.wmich.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1073&context=reading_horizons

"Many educators continue to treat reading and writing as separate subjects. In response to this observation, the authors offer four research-based writing strategies that teachers can use to improve student reading comprehension through writing. The writing strategies—About/Point, Cubing, Four Square Graphic Organizer, and Read, Respond, Revisit, Discuss—reinforce reading comprehension by helping students strengthen their skills at summarizing, thinking in-depth from multiple perspectives, activating and organizing numerous thoughts, and creating interest through meaningful social interactions."

 

Warren, James E. (2013, June 11). Rhetorical reading and the development of

          disciplinary literacy across the high school curriculum. Across the

          Disciplines, 10(1). Retrieved May 19, 2015, from

           http://wac.colostate.edu/atd/articles/warren2013.cfm

The entire article can online, for FREE, at:
http://wac.colostate.edu/atd/articles/warren2013.cfm

Part of Abstract: "This paper proposes that "rhetorical reading," a construct that sparked a flurry of CAC studies some twenty years ago but that never influenced high school instruction, could be the solution to this impasse. Rhetorical reading is a strategy common to all academic disciplines but by its very nature demands discipline-specific adaptations when applied to specific subject areas."

 

Warren, J. E. (2013). Rhetorical reading as a gateway to disciplinary literacy.

          Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, 56(5), 391-399.

The full-text/PDF file can be found in EBSCO's Education Full Text database.

"The article examines how English language arts (ELA) teachers can promote disciplinary literacy through rhetorical reading practices, a metacognitive practice in which readers' create a rhetorical frame of information for a text. According to the author, rhetorical reading can be used to help student reach the reading aspects of the U.S. educational standards known as the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). He examines how teachers can use disciplinary literacy as a means for content area literacy and improve academic achievement. Examples are provided of high school classroom experiences in which ELA teachers and literary specialists worked with students to think and read rhetorically."

 

 

 

 

Find us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016