Skip to main content

RAD/EDU 395

Help for locating disciplinary literacy resources.

APA/MLA Help

The following links will take you to LibGuides with plenty of examples to help show you how to cite your sources in the works cited page or in-text.

Tips for Finding Articles

Finding  information for different topics can be frustrating. There are some topics that there just has not been much written about that topic.

 Here are some popular options to look for when searching magazine/journal databases:

  • Many of the databases are subject-specific. Pick the right database according to your topic.

  • Most databases have options (filters) to use when selecting information.

  • Often there is a "full-text" box to check in order to make the database retrieve articles that are the entire article (not just the citation). Please remember that most databases do not contain ALL full-text articles.

  • Many scholarly databases will offer an option in order to select "peer-reviewed" journal articles.
     
  • Databases have a tendency to list the most recent articles at the top. This is called reverse chronological order. If this does not happen, look for an option in order to choose articles according to publication date.

 

What is a Database?

Databases are accessed through the Internet, but they are not counted as Internet resources.  Databases contain articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Users can search for articles on their topics.

Find us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016