Skip to main content

APA Format and Style Guide

APA Style for Electronic Databases

Delta College Library – APA Style for Database Articles

The following information is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 2009, 6th edition. This manual has a call number of Ref. PN 147 .A5 2010 and can be found on the Reference shelves.


EBSCO Database Magazine Article

Foroohar, R. (2014, February 24). The school that will get you a job. Time, 183(7): 22-29.

            Retrieved from Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega database.

Example of In-Text Citation: (Foroohar, 2014, p. 25).



EBSCO Database Journal Article

Regenerating body parts. (2012). Science Teacher, 79(5): 24-25. Retrieved from OmniFile

            Full Text Select database.

Example of In-Text Citation: (“Regenerating Body,” 2012, p. 24).


Citing InfoTrac can be confusing because the parent company of InfoTrac has changed names over the years. You may see Gale CENGAGE Learning OR PowerSearch on the database pages. We have seen some teachers accept both names. However, the following examples give the traditional citing of using the individual name of the database within the large InfoTrac computer that supplied the article. Usually the database is listed at the top of the article within the citation, such as General Reference Center Gold, Academic OneFile, or one of the other InfoTrac individual subject databases.


InfoTrac Database Magazine Article

Ellis, K. (2010, February 7). Dare to share: Knowledge sharing and management. Training, 38,

              74-80. Retrieved from InfoTrac General Reference Center Gold database.

Example of In-Text Citation: (Ellis, 2010).  OR  (Ellis, 2010, p. 75).


InfoTrac Database Journal Article

Hula, R. (2011). New ways to redevelop brownfields. Urban Policy Briefing 99(1): 50-55.

            Retrieved from InfoTrac Academic OneFile database.

Example of In-Text Citation: (Hula, 2011). OR  (Hula, 2011, p. 52).

Find us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016