Skip to main content

Delta College Archives: Collection Development Policy

Welcome to the Delta College Archives Resource Pages

Delta College Archives Collection Development Policy

The Delta College Archives collects materials that document the history, operations and activities of Delta College. Materials collected by the Archives include the following:

  • Annual Reports
  • Audio/Visual Material
  • Board of Trustee Minutes
  • Correspondence
  • Course Catalogs
  • Department Files
  • Ephemera (brochures, pamphlets and posters)
  • Manuscripts
  • Photographs
  • Policy Statements
  • Press Releases and Newspaper Clippings
  • Procedure Manuals and Guidelines
  • Publications (student and organizational, yearbooks, staff directories, handbooks, faculty papers, etc.)
  • Reports, Surveys and Planning Documents
  • Scrapbooks
  • Yearbooks

Items must provide an obvious informational and historical connection to Delta College or demonstrate a unique perspective that adds to the documentation of the College’s history.

The Following items are not collected:

  • The Delta College Archives does not collect student records. Those records are maintained by the Registrar’s Office.
  • Three-Dimensional items such as apparel, trophies, plaques, framed material and other large format items may be collected at the discretion of the Archivist and Library Director but may not be retained due to space and budget limitations.
  • Duplicate materials
  • Materials that are irreparably damaged, moldy or infested
  • Materials that do not fit the Mission and Collection Policy of the Delta College Archives

The Archives does not assign a value to donations. It is up to the donor and/or an independent appraiser to assign a value to archival donations for tax purposes.

Contact Us

Delta College Archives

archives@delta.edu

Carol Whittaker
Librarian + Archivist
carolwhittaker@delta.edu
(989) 686-9874

Anne Wolfe
Archives Assistant
arwolfe@delta.edu
(989) 686-9874

The Archives is available by appointment only.

We are located in A118 in the LLIC

Archives staff is happy to assist you with your research request or with donating material to the Archives. Please contact Carol or Anne to schedule an appointment or to drop off your donations.

Fan Us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016