Skip to main content

Delta College Archives: About Us

Welcome to the Delta College Archives Resource Pages

History of the Delta College Archives

The vision of starting an Archives program at Delta College began with English Professor Mary Beth Looby in the 1990s. Seeing a need to collect and preserve the history of the college she and Librarians Jeanne Feyedelem and Jennean Kabat began the process of soliciting support for the Archives and material donations in November 2000. Initial funding was supplied by various special project grants and storage areas were secured within the college. Through the years thousands of documents have been acquired and cataloged. A large collection of photographs capturing Delta College history has been amassed and the process of digitizing those images has begun. Papers of past president Donald Carlyon were acquired along with other significant collections such as records of the Athletic Department and a large collection of clipping books. Permanent funding now maintains a small archives staff who continue to collect, preserve and make available the records of Delta College.

Aerial View of Delta College

Student Life

Student Life

Broadcasting

Technical Trades and Manufacturing

Dental Hygiene

Nursing

Original Delta College Alma Mater by Composer Samuel Jones

Original Delta College Fight Song

Courtyard in Winter

Delta College Courtyard (Alden B. Dow design)

Early computer courses

Open Classrooms

Music in the Courtyard

Mission

The mission of the Delta College Archives is to appraise, collect, organize, describe, preserve and make accessible to students, faculty, staff and community members material in all formats that documents the establishment, history, operations and activities of Delta College.

Contact Us

Delta College Archives

archives@delta.edu

Carol Whittaker
Librarian + Archivist
carolwhittaker@delta.edu
(989) 686-9874

Anne Wolfe
Archives Assistant
arwolfe@delta.edu
(989) 686-9874

The Archives is available by appointment only.

We are located in A118 in the LLIC

Archives staff is happy to assist you with your research request or with donating material to the Archives. Please contact Carol or Anne to schedule an appointment or to drop off your donations.

Fan Us on Facebook! | Follow Us on Twitter! | Visit our Blog!

1961 Delta Road, University Center, Michigan (989) 686-9016